Thoughts of a new fan

Mitya

• Followers:  0
  • Content Count:  8
  • Days Won:  0

I'm fairly new to Notts. This is only my second season following them (I initially started with a half-season ticket last season after I'd moved back to Nottm and thought they could do with the support!)

So my thoughts may not be as insightful as those with more football nous, but this being the internet, I thought I'd share them anyway. Several things occur:

1) Why are we so insistent on playing long-ball football? Is it because we acknowledge we don't have the skill to pass our way into their box? If so, why haven't we got more height up front? Lita must be one very bored man. It became depressingly comical last night to watch the guy forced into jumping for header after header that he has no chance of winning. He needs ground service.

2) Why oh why does Derry keep playing Hollis? OK, he dropped him for a game a few weeks back but seriously, academy product or not, he needs to rediscover his passion. He must be nearly deaf from the number of times he has compelled Roy Carroll to bark at him for not doing his job. Drop him, sell him - either's good for me.

3) I would sooner see us go down with a tight-knit squad that played for one another and for the shirt, than scrap survival on the last day with a team full of loan players who will be gone the very next day and whose commitment is highly questionable.

4) With 3 in mind, why do we continue to bring in all and sundry, only to not play them? It can't give a lot of confidence to our own players that we refuse to play them into experience and form, choosing instead to replace them with someone who'll be here for a few weeks.